74th DGA Awards Winners List as ‘The Power of the Dog’ Takes Top Honor

Everyone is aware that the Directors Guild Awards serve as a precursor to the Academy Awards. We now have the winners of the 2022 DGA Awards, which were held yesterday at the Beverly Hilton.

I recall the criticism Benedict Cumberbatch faced a few days ago as a result of his portrayal. Do you recall Sam Elliott complaining in “Power of the Dog”? Well, the crew’s dedication speaks for itself.

The Power of the Dog by Jane Champion received the DGA’s top accolade yesterday. The “Theatrical Feature Film Prize Award,” the highest prize, was given to the movie. Other nominees, such as West Side Story, Dune, and Licorice Pizza, were unable to advance.

With regards to the Directors Guild Awards

The prestigious DGA Awards, which celebrated artists from many industries for their outstanding work for the 74th consecutive year, were held this year. According to the conventional wisdom, the Awards established a biometric for the Oscars.

D.W. Griffith received the inaugural “Honorary Life Member” designation from the Directors Guild Awards in 1938. He was an American film director and one of the most important people in the development of cinema.

Top-most Honour

The highest accolade in the competitive categories is the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Motion Pictures. For your information, Steven Spielberg, the director of The Colour Purple, has received the most DGA nominations and awards for this particular category.

The Power of the Dog, in which Benedict Cumberbatch played Phil, a character who fights with his sexuality in a time when homosexuality is still frowned upon, has now gained Jane Champion the highest accolade. The image of the year is the Western Psychological Drama, which depicts Phil’s toxic masculinity.

Winners’ Complete List

The complete list of this year’s Directors Guild Award winners is provided below:

Award for Best Theatrical Feature (Top-most Honour)

Paul Thomas Anderson is a nominee. “Dune,” “Licorice Pizza,” Steven Spielberg’s “West Side Story,” Kenneth Branagh’s “Belfast,” MGM’s “Licorice Pizza,” Focus Features’ “Belfast,” Netflix’s “The Power of the Dog,” and Steven Spielberg’s “West Side Story” (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Jane Campion’s “The Power of the Dog” was the winner (Netflix)

Film Documentary

Ascension by Jessica Kingdon (MTV Documentary Films), Attica by Stanley Nelson (Showtime), Exterminate All the Brutes by Raoul Peck (HBO), Summer of Soul by Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson (Searchlight), and The Rescue by Elizabeth Chai Varsarhelyi & Jimmy Chin (The Rescue) are the nominees (Searchlight)

Stanley Nelson’s “Attica” won (Showtime)

first-time auteur of a feature

Nominees include Rebecca Hall for “Passing,” Maggie Gyllenhaal for “The Lost Daughter” on Netflix, Tatiana Huezo for “Prayers for the Stolen” on Netflix, Lin-Manuel Miranda for “Tick Tick Boom” on Netflix, Michael Sarnoski for “Pig” on Neon, and Emma Seligman for “Shiva Baby” (Utopia)

“The Lost Daughter” by Maggie Gyllenhaal was the winner (Netflix)

Television drama

Candidates include Robert Pulcini and Shari Springer Berman, Kevin Bray, Mark Mylod, Andrij Parekh, “Succession,” “What It Takes,” and “Retired Janitors of Idaho” (all on HBO). “Succession,” “Lion in the Meadow” (HBO), “Too Much Birthday,” and Lorena Scafaria (HBO)

Winner: “Succession” and “All the Bells Say” by Mark Mylod (HBO),

Television movies and limited series

Nominees include Barry Jenkins for “The Underground Railroad” on HBO, Barry Levinson for “Dopesick,” “First Bottle,” and “Wheel of Fire” on HBO Max, Hiro Murai for “Station Eleven,” “Dopesick,” and “The People v. Purdue Pharma” on Hulu, and Craig Zobel for “Mare of Easttown” (HBO)

Barry Jenkins’ “The Underground Railroad” took first place (HBO)

Comedy programs

Candidates: “Hacks” Lucia Aniello It is not a line (HBO), “Ted Lasso,” “No Weddings and a Funeral” (Apple TV+), and MJ Delaney Rainbow (Apple TV+), “Ted Lasso,” Erica Dunton “Ted Lasso,” “Beard After Hours,” Sam Jones (Apple TV+), The White Lotus and Mysterious Monkeys by Mike White (HBO Max)

“There Is No Line,” “Hacks,” and Lucia Aniello won (HBO)

Different Talk, News, and Sports (Specials)

The 43rd Annual Kennedy Center Honors, Bo Burnham: Inside, Paul Dugdale’s “Adele: One Night Only,” Stan Lathan’s “Dave Chappelle: The Closer,” and Ian Berger’s “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah’ Presents Jordan Klepper Fingers the Pulse — Into the Magaverse” (Comedy Central) are among the nominees (CBS)

Paul Dugdale won. One night only of Adele (CBS)

Different Talk, News, and Sports (Regularly Scheduled Programming)

The following individuals are nominated: Paul G. Casey of “Real Time With Bill Maher,” “Episode 1935: Fareed Zakaria, Chris Christie, and Eric Adams” (HBO), Jim Hoskinson of “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert,” “Episode 1105” (CBS), Don Roy King of “Saturday Night Live,” “Keegan Michael-Key; Olivia Rodrigo” (NBC), David Paul Meyer of “The Daily Show With Trevor Episode 830 of “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver,” the season finale (HBO)

“Saturday Night Live,” “Keegan Michael-Key; Olivia Rodrigo,” and Don Roy King were the winners (NBC),

Young People’s Programs

James Bobin’s “The Mysterious Benedict Society,” Michael Lembeck’s “The J Team,” and “A Bunch of Smart Orphans” (all from Disney+) are among the nominees. “Three More Years,” “Head of the Class,” and Phill Lewis (HBO Max), “Through Our Eyes,” “Shelter,” Smrithi Mundhra (HBO Max), Travis Wadlow “The Tale of the Darkhouse,” “Are You Afraid of the Dark” (Nickelodeon)

Smrithi Mundhra won. Shelter; Through Our Eyes (HBO Max)

Reality Shows

Nominees include: Adam Vetri’s “Getaway Driver,” Joseph Guidry’s “Full Bloom,” “Final Floral Face-Off” (HBO Max), Patrick McManus’ “American Ninja Warrior,” “1304: Qualifiers 4” (NBC), Ramy Romany’s “Making the Cut,” and “Brand Statement” (Amazon), Ben Simms’ “Running Wild With Bear Grylls,” “Gina Carano (Discovery)

Adam Vetri won for “Getaway Driver” and “Electric Shock” (Discovery)


Nominees include Steve Ayson (MJZ) Anthem, Mattress Firm – Droga5, Ian Pons Jewell (Reset), ECG, Apple Watch – Apple, Kathryn Bigelow (Smuggler), Hollywood In Your Pocket, and iPhone 13 – Media Arts Lab. Teenage Dream, Henry-Alex Rubin (smuggler), BBDO’s Sandy Hook Promise – New York Bryant Young (Serial Pictures x Somesuch) Channel 4 Paralympics, Super. Human – 4Creative

Bradford Young won (Serial Pictures x Somesuch) Channel 4 Paralympics, Super. Human – 4Creative

Judd Apatow served as the emcee for the 74th DGA Awards. Prior to this, he presided over the 70th and 77th Directors Guild Awards. At this year’s awards, a wealth of talent was gathered under one roof. What do you think of the victors? What do you think about The Power of the Dogs winning the best book award for Jane Champion?

Leave a Comment